California COVID-19 Reporting Laws Go Into Effect

MyTPG Blog
Published: 10/14/20 4:00 PM

Title Picture New California COVID-19 Reporting Laws for reporting COVID cases to Workers' Comp

California COVID-19 Reporting Laws Go Into Effect

This article was published on: 10/14/20 4:00 PM




COVID-19 Reporting Laws for Businesses with 5 or more employees:

CA Employers must report all known (or reasonably known) Employee positive tests for COVID to their WC Carrier.  This obligation applies even if the employee is not making an allegation of workplace exposure.


Download the PDF version


Positive Tests between 7/6/2020 to 9/17/2020

1.            Test Amounts: Report all known positive tests by 10/29/2020

2.            Test Result: Report that an employee tested positive.  Do not identify the employee by name unless employee claims the infection was work related.

3.            Date: Report the date the employee tested positive.  This is the date the test was taken.

4.            Address: Include the address of the specific place(s) of employment where the infected employee worked during the 14-day period before testing positive.

5.            Employee Total: Report the highest number of employees who reported to work at the employee’s specific place of employment in the 45-day period preceding the last day the employee worked.

Positive Tests on (or after) 9/17/2020:

1             Test Result: Report that an employee tested positive.  Do not identify the employee by name unless employee claims the infection was work related.

2             Date: Report the date the employee tested positive.  This is the date the test was taken.

3             Address: Include the address of the specific place(s) of employment where the infected employee worked during the 14-day period before testing positive.

4             Employee Total: Report the highest number of employees who reported to work at the employee’s specific place of employment in the 45-day period preceding the last day the employee worked.

5             Deadline: The cases must be reported within 3 business days of Employer Notification of a positive employee test.

CA AB 685

This Bill becomes effective on 1/1/2021

COVID-19 Reporting Laws: CA Businesses will be required to notify their employees who may have been exposed to COVID at their worksite within 1 business day.  There are also record keeping requirements included in this bill.  Employers should go to leginfo.legislature.ca.gov and search AB 685 for more information on what is required.


Download the PDF version